Mommy’s Dark Obsession of the Month: Black Pheonix Alchemy Lab Perfume

20161021_175637

I’ve been aware of Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab for a while.  I have been in love with the idea of their concoctions but it took me until only very recently to take the initiative and buy something from them.  It is easy to get overwhelmed by their selection, there is just so much! It is so tempting to just say “yes to all!”.  At first I wanted to get something that went with my personality, but the danger of that is it might not react the way you want it to or think it will on your skin “the bottle says Temptress so why do I smell like cough syrup?” (not sure if there is a Temptress scent or if there is what it smells/is suppose to smell like, just an example).  I’ve hemmed and hawed for years.  I love Alice in Wonderland and their “Alice” scent sounded like it would be right up my alley but I struggled with wanting to break away from my norm.  In the spring I bought a bottle of their “Hecate” perfume as a birthday gift for a friend.  Honestly, I opened it and smelled it before I gave it to her (as much out of curiosity as out of wariness that it might not be as good as the description said).  It was smelled wonderful in the bottle and she seemed to like it but I don’t have any further review of it.  They also send you two “imps” which are random testers of their other scents (you can also buy imps for $4 a bottle which is a really awesome idea if you, like me, don’t even know where to begin or choose.  I don’t remember the second one that came with my friend’s bottle but the one was from the Alice in Wonderland collection “eat me” (I smelled that too.  Delicious, I can definitely  see wanting to lick your own wrist.).

It wasn’t until a few weeks ago that I finally committed to getting my own bottle of Gothy decadence.  I have been pursuing Gothic Romance Novels recently.  Not the young adult vampire stuff that is out there but the original stories, the Victorian era novels.  I’ve read Dracula, I don’t know how many times.  I need to read Frankenstein, just haven’t gotten around to it.  My local library had Wuthering Heights and Northanger Abbey both of which I had started previously but never finished.  I started on those and also found the movie Crimson Peaks.  I remember Crimson Peaks coming out last year, but I don’t think I gave it very much thought.  Pinterest and Facebook have been suggesting it to me for some time so I decided to give it a go.  I saw that it was written and directed by Guillermo del Toro, whom I love for Pan’s Labyrinth but after my daughter was born I haven’t been able to do gore and violence the way I use to.  I decided to go for it anyway and not judge myself too harshly if I had to chicken out.

I was already excited over the cast list (Tom Hiddleston, Mia Wasikowska & Charlie Hunnam)  but then the story opens on Buffalo, NY (hometown!!) and Jim Beaver (Bobby from Supernatural!!) is the father.  The rest of the movie was like a beautiful love poem to the whole genre and I’ve been obsessed ever since.

To bring this story full circle Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab has three lines out now that are limited edition.  One is a seasonal variety that has a bunch of October~Halloween scents (I am dying to try the “Unquiet Grave” but alas I could only choose one).  The other two are based on movies Crimson Peaks and Only Lovers Left Alive (I’ve already sung my praise of Crimson Peaks and I would recommend only Lovers Left Alive as it is a great addition to the vampire genre (no glitter) and very thought provoking.  The choice was hard.  The main character scents were all taken.  I was deliberating between “Lullaby”, “Black Moths” and “The Waltz”. I thought on it for a week and then they ran out of “Black Moths”.  I decided to not entertain the idea of getting one of the cheaper options (“Alice”,”Leannan Sidhe” or a bunch of the imps) since I always do that and regret it later.  I chose “Lullaby”  because I thought the scent would go well on my skin: Moonflower and iris root with French lavender, tuberose, white sandalwood, night-blooming gardenia, vanilla orchid, and moss.  I also was partial to the name being the title of a Cure song.  The package came rather quickly and I opened it immediately.  My first impression was that it smelled like some of the old Avon perfume bottles my grandmother kept in a drawer at her old house, so it was not an altogether disappointing smell.  It kind of reminded me of Shalimar Guerlain which is heavy on the myrrh.  It wasn’t until a week later when I put it on before yoga that I truly experienced it and fell in love with it. when warmed it smells like vanilla~rose…but not, something lovely and comforting.  Just like a lullaby!

My two imps are “Ave Maria Gratia Plena” (which has a similar Avon smell upon first application  but as I sit here sampling it seems to evolve into a smoky incense with a hint of floral) and “Night-Gaunt” (which is more citrusy when smelled from the bottle and becomes a bit woodsy after awhile, might be a good unisex perfume).

Overall, I’ve had nothing but good experiences from Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab, I can’t wait to try more and see what else they come up with!

Leave a Reply

