Happy New Year! 2017 the year of the Fire Rooster!

“Conflicts, controversy and plenty of debate can be expected during the year of the Rooster. The cocky presence and fearless action will bring about change, whether it’s needed or wanted by the masses.” Says an article on the Toronto Sun website.  That doesn’t sound great, but other articles say it will be okay…as long as everyone keeps their cool.

a9f1bafb096a93eb96c817490da6e27b

But horoscopes are probably just a load of malarkey anyways right?  I feel that stuff like horoscopes, palm reading etc. won’t tell you anything you don’t already know (I myself am a proud Cancer/Holly Moon sign).  Aside from a certain someone’s resignation astrologers say that this year will be good for everyone (except for other roosters?)  as long as you haven’t put anything serious on the backburner for too long, if you have then year of the rooster is going to remind you of it probably unpleasantly.

I had epic plans for this weekend.  A big cleaning spree, maybe take out or trying my hand at some Chinese Cuisine in my own kitchen,  I rented Mulan and Kung Fu Panda to share with Baby Bat, we were also was going to make these cute little toilet paper roll dragons I saw on Pinterest.  However our house got hit with a bout of “death”.  Baby Bat and I have been toiling with stuffy noses and coughs all week but Thursday night I noticed that she was all red and puffy around the eyes.  I attributed it to her not napping that day and staying up past her bedtime, but the next morning it hadn’t gotten any better.  I asked her teacher when I dropped her off at her room, because now I’m worrying that its pink eye.  She said she noticed it too but it doesn’t look like pink eye since her eyes clear (no red) and the goop was white and not greenish yellow.  Saturday was much the same but her eyes definitely got goopy toward bedtime.

20170128_204805

This morning she woke up with her eyes crusted shut (oddly enough it didn’t bother her too much, she just demanded her morning cocoa).  After a shower and breakfast I talked to the a nurse and they also said that it doesn’t sound like pink eye, Baby Bat is just working through some kind of infection and the only thing to do is let her work through it, possibly some lubricating eye drops and a doctor visit tomorrow but nothing too serious.

While all of this is going on I battled my with my cold and then in an unfortunate turn of events have been experiencing a troubled stomach to boot (might be drainage?).  Through all of this we have managed to have some fun this week and try out a Beef “Casserole” which was quite delicious.

I thought I knew what beef casserole was when I read it in Goblet of Fire but as I went through this recipe my inner Inigo Montoya keeps thinking:

64eb28ada92be4fa0067845b1db5e2669cce9b0594700a23ed1abca7e205d3c0

To start it says to preheat the oven to 160°C (about 320°F I don’t think a round 350 will hurt it).  Then take out a large casserole dish and heat some oil and fry up the flour coated meat.  I think, but I’m not sure, that they might be referring to a cast iron skillet or something as the dish they suggested doesn’t look anything like the casserole dishes that I have used…to be sure I’ve never put a casserole dish on the stove.  So I cooked the majority of the ingredients in a large skillet as I’ve done with Chicken French.

20170126_194442The recipe calls for carrots and mushrooms but I used the veggies that I had on hand (broccoli, peas and carrots) then popped it in the oven with a tray under it as the casserole dish I chose seemed to call for it and let it cook for 1.5 of the 2 hours.

20170126_194954_hdr

I didn’t get to dig into it until Friday night, it was lovely and I didn’t find any talons in it 🙂

Last Sunday we made fake snow with 1.5 cups of Baking Soda and 1/4 cup white conditioner.  Baby Bat loved it!  Although, I want to try mixing it with coconut oil to make it edible since I’m going to be working with little babies and they’re like little sharks, exploring the world with their mouth…the conditioner made the room smell really fresh though:

20170122_125206

Today we mixed plain yogurt and Kool – Aid to make finger paint.  She was not as wild about this and kept asking to wash her hands.  I think it will be great for the babies though, just let them go to town on a table top or something…not sure how this mixture would go over on paper:

20170129_115407

Huzzah! Next weekend is a Harry Potter Weekend on FreeForm! I’ve been keeping a reserve stash of jelly beans, chocolate and a can of pumpkin for the occasion!  Have  a good week!

Leave a Reply

