Medea’s Reindeer Cookies

Life Quote of the Week: “…If nothing else this has taught us that one should always wear pants when playing Quidditch…”

So…not a lot has happened in the past couple weeks.  I mean we’ve done things and the weeks have had their own special quirks, crisis’s and adventures, but I guess I haven’t felt really motivated to write about it. I chalk it up to seasonal laziness.

Two weeks ago Baby Bat and I went to a get together and I finally got to use my dragon cookie cutter that my mum got for me ages ago:

20170225_081804

I had great ambitions of first making them gingerbread…but as I had already done gingerbread with the unicorns during the last Reed Moon and I refound the very best butter cookie cut out recipe (seriously!  Its the best.  I’m one of those types that feel like cut out cookies only serve the purpose being the vehicle for getting the icing into my mouth but this recipe you wouldn’t even notice if the icing wasn’t there.  I made bats last time with it and me and a couple friends almost inhaled them).  Anyways, I settled for making gingerbread cut outs as I feel strongly that it suited my dragons better and resolved to make my unicorns with the butter cookie recipe.  I also wasn’t happy with the gingerbread recipe I used previously and wanted to have another go at it.

For me, cookies involving a shaped cutter are a lot like playing Monopoly: It sounds fun and you haven’t played in awhile, but then you are two hours into it and wondering when this is going to be over because its taking so bloody long.  But I would never get store bought…a) they don’t have the shapes I want and b) its someone else’s energy going into my food.  I may not be the best kitchen witch (catch myself way too often stirring widdershins when should be going deosil…I’ve resigned myself to it’s the thought that counts) but I like to make from scratch as much as possible.

The good news is I found a recipe I love (this one!)

20170225_094626

Baby Bat approved so much she kept trying to push me out of the way and dig into the batter.

20170225_090249

They turned out great…just their tails have a similar problem that the unicorn horns have.  They tend to break off easily in the cutting process and the post baking process, or cook faster.  I also was very ambitious in making these into filled cookies.

20170225_105419

And the tails present a problem because they don’t line up with their other side.  The icing recipe called for vanilla of which I had very little…but apparently I have a ton of rose water so this came out like an Indian chai desert like cookie (why I opted not to put some cardamom in it somewhere I’ll never know).  In essence, this was great but I have since found a dark mark cookie cutter:

dark markAnd I now have great ambitions of making a Dark Mark Oreo.  I found this recipe back in the fall and made bat Oreos.  They were good but I was overly ambitious in wanting them to be really dark and put black food coloring in them.  I don’t think it changed the flavor of them but we definitely saw the coloring again later…if you catch my meaning.  Next time we’ll skip the food coloring entirely.

 

I don’t have the dark mark cutter yet but…

tumblr_m0pqe40mBL1ro1wcko1_500

In the mean time I can also decide whether I’m going to get the Hogwarts house cookie stamps as well.  The Dark Mark one lends itself well to a theme night/weekend: Dark Mark Oreos, Apothic Dark Wine & investing in some rub on Dark Mark tattoos…still working on the rest of that menu/idea.  Probably do that for upcoming Ivy or Reed Moon so we got time.

What else?  Last weekend was a Harry Potter Marathon Weekend (yay!).  We did the usual, Jelly beans, pumpkin pasties and chocolate frogs.  We made Toad in the Hole on Friday, Chicken and Ham pie and Treacle Pudding with custard on Saturday and ended the weekend with Shepard’s Pie.  Also mixed up some Felix Felicis again (March = Luck = Liquid Luck)  But honestly I feel like I gotta make an effort to do it a bit different next month.  I’ve been really wanting to try the Wolfsbane Potion or maybe the Pheonix…but April seems to suggest laughter and joking…also hoping that my copy of Fantastic Beasts will arrive then we can experiment with finding a Giggle Water recipe

tumblr_oh8zvu3fGw1rszoo3o5_r1_500

What is really cool is that “giggle water” is an actual thing!  Its kind of like butterbeer in that its based on something real…the problem that arises is that it is a very broad 1920’s term used to describe alcohol in general (or at least that is what my research has yielded).  Last I checked it didn’t seem that anyone in the fandom has attempted to make something like this so I’ve been thinking up ways to bring this to life.

To me Gin seems to define the 1920’s (thoughts? totally open to suggestion on this one…I mean you could go with bourbon I guess, Bourbon is used in Mint Juleps which are mentioned in The Great Gatsby, but I feel like Gin is a light and airy option that would lend itself well to something whimsical.  I also feel strongly that Giggle Water needs to be fizzy.  So with those two factors I went searching on the almighty Pinterest and came up with this

Gin-Elderflower-and-Prosecco-Cocktail-2016-1-of-2-700x842

2 parts gin, 1 part elderflower liquor, Prosecco, lime wedges and sugar garnish (sounds like yum to me!) Only thing I think would be harder to find is the elderberry liquor but maybe not.

Anyways, despite it not being a Harry Potter weekend we’re still keeping it magical here.  We played potions this morning and made a little attempt at Quidditch, but I think we need to wait a bit until it’s warm enough to do it outside.  We also went to the craft store yesterday and got a Harry Potter Creature coloring book (which I’m sure we will make quick work of…when I restock our colored pencils).

If you’ve been hit with any of the wind or storms that we’ve received this week I hope you are safe and sound.  We’ve only seen a bit of it but surrounding areas got a big blast.  Trees are down, power is out, roads are blocked off but we’ve managed to somehow get through it unscathed **knocks on wood**…Indeed, if I still worked from home, I wouldn’t know that anything had happened unless I turned on the news.

Have a good week! Stay warm, stay safe and stay magical!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

